All I Have is Christ

Picked up my guitar after I showered this afternoon.  While jamming I found myself singing some old songs that I hadn’t played in a while.  Came across “All I Have is Christ” by Sovereign Grace.  You can watch it here. I died.  I was so caught off guard.  Yes, I’ve teared up before in quiet meditation or in pure joy before the lord, but not like this.  Not on a lazy afternoon after playing basketball when God was probably the last thing on my mind.  I felt my heart tingle and my vision blur as I sang the verse, but it was when I got to the chorus where I completely lost my words.  My throat clogged and my voice wouldn’t come out.  As I continued to strum and and sing the lines in my head I couldn’t stop bawling. Tears down my face in all sincerity,  All I have is Christ, All I have is Christ, All I have is Christ.

Such truth.

If Christ weren’t everything to us, “All I have is Christ” would be such a sad statement.  But when Christ is magnified and treasured in our lives and He dwells within us in all His infinite glory….  What beauty.  What power.  What joy.

All I have is Christ.

That’s what David was saying in psalm 23 when he talked about how the Lord is His shepherd and he lacks NOTHING.

That’s what Paul meant when he considers everything as loss, as rubbish in light of what he has in Christ.

All I have is Christ and that is all I need.

God is good.  The Gospel is good news.  Jesus Christ is Lord.  How often do I forget.

The irony of all my sin, all my lust, all my running and toiling is that it doesn’t do me any good because only He is good and only what He has is good.  Even when I choose to run away and sin in my own terms it isn’t ____ that I want— it’s actually Him that I want, whether I choose to believe it or not.

When I say that I want to dunk, or want to get away from my surroundings, or want to eat more food, or want another shot… it’s really Him that I want.

All I want is Him.  All I want is to get lost in the endless streams of His love, to feel and see everything glorious and beautiful about Him that He puts on display.  To rest my heavy, sin-ladened  heart in his hands as the still small voice whispers to me that everything is going to be okay.

And in days like today where God surprises me in the depths of my sin with the heights of His love, and I look back at my life and see all the seemingly grave and unforgivable things that I’ve done that he somehow says I’m freed of, I wonder… Wonder, in the beauty of this random yet completely ordained moment, about how the heck could I ever walk away from this love.

And it’s in that moment when I remember that night about 9 years ago when I died and let Christ come live in me.  I may have stumbled and fallen countless times and broke His heart thousands more on the way but His promise of His everlasting love still stands true.

and this love is mine.  all mine.  You are the savior of my wretched soul.

praise praise hallelujah thank you oh my god

__________________________________________

I once was lost in darkest night
Yet thought I knew the way
The sin that promised joy and life
Had led me to the grave
I had no hope that You would own
A rebel to Your will
And if You had not loved me first
I would refuse You still

But as I ran my hell-bound race
Indifferent to the cost
You looked upon my helpless state
And led me to the cross
And I beheld God’s love displayed
You suffered in my place
You bore the wrath reserved for me
Now all I know is grace

Hallelujah! All I have is Christ
Hallelujah! Jesus is my life

Now, Lord, I would be Yours alone
And live so all might see
The strength to follow Your commands
Could never come from me
Oh Father, use my ransomed life
In any way You choose
And let my song forever be
My only boast is You

