rain

2 of the most distinct moments of my life involved playing in the rain.

The first one was during a retreat in the summer of my sophomore year of high school.  All of our outdoor activities that were planned got cancelled because of the rain.   I still vividly remember how we were playing basketball out in the rain and all of a sudden we decided that it would be a fun idea to start diving around in the wet grass.   About 6 of us were soaked down to our boxers and we still have evidence of how we showered together afterwards (with clothes on, of course).

The second one was more recent (pictured above).  A group of men from my Christian Fellowship were supposed to go on an outdoor camping trip, which quickly got moved to indoors because it rained all day long.  It didn’t stop us from having fun though.  We played the most epic game of kickball in the cold rain, even with mud in our face and up our shorts. We didn’t care about how dirty we got, we just had each other and we knew that this could be one of those magical moments that we would be talking about years from now.

Who says you can’t have fun in the rain?  

Today was just one of those days until flashes of lightning and quaking thunder turned it all around.  There was hail, wind, and lots, and lots, I mean LOTS of rain.    Strange, huh?  Usually the rain changes the mood in a negative way, but this time it was different.

I felt like doing something crazy so I went out during the storm to shoot some hoops, trying to pretend like I was in some sort of epic sports movie.   There was water in my eyes, and the ball got about 10 pounds heavier because of the rain, but today wasn’t about basketball.   Basketball was merely an excuse to get soaked in the rain.

I was quickly joined by Billy and a couple of my friends.  We ended up sliding all over the wet grass as we screamed and shouted for joy.  Neighbors would peep out of their balconies to see what on earth we were up to.  It didn’t bother us.  Not one bit.

More than anything, it was just ridiculous to see that much rain fall out of the sky.  I mean, I enjoy trickles of rain on a nice cool day once in a while, but something about downpours bring about something deep in me that I can’t express in words.

“Test me in this… and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that there will be not enough room to store it.” -Malachi3

I’d like to believe that today was a glimpse of that.  If that downpour were actually the blessings from heaven, I want to be the first one outside soaked through and through, while inviting all my friends to join the party.

I’ve been learning how to put aside my pride, my agenda, and most importantly myself, for the sake of building memories with others.  I guess a lot of it has to do with the fact that undergrad is slowly waning away, but either way I’m still learning.

and as long as I’m learning, I’m on the right track.

7 more days of classes.  
3 more exams.
1 more project.
1 more presentation.

say what you want, but my glass is still half full

!

