thanksgiving

in the concluding chapter of the letter to the Philippians, Paul says this:

“I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty, I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.  I can do everything through him who gives me strength.”

this passage has been floating around in my head for a while now…

i read it the other day and I was kind of amazed…

I wrote an entry a couple months ago about how we’re such fickle beings; how so often times outside things tend to dictate our moods… how one “bad thing” can “ruin” a day and so on…

and then there’ paul here.

when i read that he knows the “secret of being content in every situation”, I honestly got kind of jealous…

why can’t i be like that? I want to be free from my desires and wants…to be able to let slide the little things that don’t matter and hold on to the good

and i was thinking about it this thanksgiving break, as i got to spend some time by myself, and it all made sense.

this so called “secret” that Paul is talking about here is thanksgiving.  having a thankful heart.

sounds stupid and cliche, but hey thats just the way it is sometimes

i think its crazy how people go shopping crazy during thanksgiving…

don’t get me wrong i love black friday sales… but i think the whole idea of it shows how we are such broken people and how our wants and desires can drive us to do ridiculous things…

and i don’t think our desires are necessarily a bad thing.  its just bad when its channeled in a wrong direction

it took a lot of breaking down but i’ve come to realize the importance of having a thankful heart and taking nothing for granted..

ill end with some things that i’m thankful for in my life

second chances. mom. dad. rupert. family. friends. old friends. health. wealth. deodorant. windows 7. hoodies. good food with good people. grace. arrested development. sports. afc. snl. kcpc. gcf. brotherhood. lemon lime and fierce melon gatorade. chapstick. febreze….

