post marathon post

today is june 1st… 2009… which means… that it’s already been one year since i ran the marathon in San Diego!

if you want to read any of the pre-marathon posts that I did, you can check them out at runjoerun21.wordpress.com

So many people ask me about the marathon, and seriously… my honest and sincere response that I always give is that I still cannot believe I ran those 26.2 miles… I was such a running noob… but most importantly I think the whole training period and the actual running really taught me valuable lessons that I will never forget…

especially during this past school year, I kept thinking about the 6 months of training I went through prior to running the marathon… I ran 3-5 miles every day, and go out for some long runs on saturdays… my life was pretty much centered around running…

–i remember making sacrifices… i cut down on basketball… I barely played games during the training period… for the first time in my life i started watching what I ate… I remember not doing any strenuous walking during the day, just so I have enough energy to go all out during my runs…

basketball… delicious, unhealthy food… random activities… these were all good, but I had a bigger goal in mind, so to me, my decision was clear cut.  If i want to achieve this goal, I needed to fix my eyes on this goal and chuck some things in this life.

that’s why I decided to memorize this verse.  I remember in every one of my runs… no matter how long or short, I would repeat this in my head a couple of times.  “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everthing that hinders, and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.  Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfector of our faith, who for the joy set before him, endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

I could run as hard as I could, but without making sacrifices, I would have never been able to achieve my goal.

— if you guys didn’t know, my youth pastor was the one who decided to run this marathon first.  I’ve always had the thought of running a marathon in the back of my head, but it didn’t come out until pastor esther convinced me to run it.  I quickly dragged my best friend Isaiah into it, which he obliged without hesitation because he is cool like that… pastor esther got her good friend donna to run it as well, and we were set.  In all honesty, I don’t think any of us would have been able to run this thing without each other….

I could run as hard as i could, I could make all the sacrifices I wanted to, but without company, I would have been long gone…

— I remember the first week of training…  I had never ran more than a mile before ever in my life… and they asked me to run 3 miles on my first day.  I did it. somehow.  but soon and very soon my flat feet took its toll and I was in a LOT of pain… I remember even thinking about ditching the whole idea of a marathon… that’s where the shoes came in, and I was able to complete most of my training… but about a month before the marathon, i hurt my foot again… I couldn’t run without feeling any pain my right foot, and I was so shocked and pissed at the untimeliness of it all…

I could run as hard as I could, I could make all the sacrifices, I could get all of my friends to run with me, but without the hand of god, I wouldn’t have made it past the first two steps…

— crossing the finish line was probably the greatest feeling I had ever felt in my entire life… i remember when i turned the final corner, and i saw the checkered line in the distance, and the huge crowd of people in the bleachers cheering for me and my fellow runners… I couldn’t believe it, but some how, some where in me, i found and managed to muster up the energy to sprint to the finish line… oh man…

FINAL STRETCH

FINAL STRETCH

— the sight of the finish line… after all those miles of running, was probably the most beautiful thing I had seen in ages… I mean… that finish line… was my ultimate goal for the six months right?  I wonder what it would be like when we finally see Jesus face to face… after all this world… after all this life… to finally reach the end of the race and just fall at his feet…   that joy of crossing the finish line was unbelievable… but imagine how we’ll feel when we feel the warm embrace of god..

in all this i’ve learned that it’s not about my abilities or how much I can do, but how much god can do in my weaknesses…

I’ve learned that life is about forward motion.  that it is about the ability to withstand the hits, the hardships, and to keep moving forward… forward motion. to be able to fix our eyes on the finish line that we have yet to see… but to trust, in our hearts and in faith that it is there…  to know that in the end everything will be worth it…

the end

the end

