ankle insurance

so a little over a week ago I had my first ever ankle injury…

nice life

nice life

but let me take you back in time for a little bit though.

about a month or two ago I bought my Kobe IVs…

del sol

del sol

I was thinking to myself whether the $120 I was about to pay for these shoes was gonna be worth it… I hadn’t paid more than 80 bucks for any basketball shoes… I was thinking about settling for some on-sale jordans for like 70 bucks but I just couldn’t resist…

but these shoes totally fit my bill:

– i LOVE low tops… i’ve worn them ever since the gilbert came out with the gilzeros…
-black/yellow/white colorways are my favorite…
-and i’ve always wanted to wear kobe’s shoes…

I’ve always loved low tops… that extra mobility down in my feet makes me feel a lot quicker…

people always asked me whether or not I’m worried about rolling my ankle, but I’ve always had strong ankles… I’ve rolled it a couple times in the past… but I’ve always been able to walk it off… believe in that milk nah meannn

and how could u resist buying these after watching this:

i remember the first time i played in my kobes I was a completely differnet player

I felt like kobe bryant except in a 5’9″ korean body

haha but honestly though… these shoes are so money… more than anything the grip on the sole is ridiculous…

combine the extra mobility + crazy grip, you feel so much quicker… not to mention these shoes are lighter than the Hyperdunks…  If kobe jumped over an aston martin in his hyperdunks, imagine what he could do in the Kobe IVs… win a championship?? ohp…

but anyways… coming back to reality… life after rolling my ankle has been quite sucky…

but I don’t blame the low tops though… cuz you always see guys in hightops and ankle braces roll their ankles and roll around the gym floor in agony and pain… i think rolling ankles is just a matter of luck and the way you play sports…

think about soccer players… they run around in low tops and step on each otehrs feet like all the time but they rarely roll their ankles…

I went to the doctors to get it checked out but they say it’s like a light sprain, whatever that means…

I guess it could have been a lot worse, but I’m trying to take it slow.

defintely not trying to be that guy who tries to come back from injury and have a bad ankle the rest of his life… (think grant hill… sam choi…)

instead i’ve been kinda taking advantage of the situation and have been focusing on lifting, shooting form, and ball handling…

and also like i’ve written before, I believe god always tries to speak to people through random things like this… definitely feel like god’s trying to slow me down again… take some time and think,..

meanwhile i’ve taken two exams and i have two more to go…  honestly, at this point in the year, and how chitty my semester has been academically, I just wanan get things over with and get to summer…

bad attitude, i know, but i dunno what to do anymore… kinda confused about a lot of things.

more thoughts to come later.

music:

can’t take my eyes off you – lauryn hill
long shot- kelly clarkson (this is kinda good)
knock you down – keri hilson
home – switchfoot

