FDF… grace and discipline…

this could be the start of something good

this could be the start of something good... real good...

this past wednesday GCF kicked off this thing called FDF… it stands for Fully Devoted Followers, and basically what we’re doing is basically a 40 day discipleship training program, through accountability…

to be honest, i never really liked the ideas of programs like this where we try to do more… as in try to read the bible more, pray more, do good things more, do bad things less and what not…

i’ve been learning that the goal is not to love God more, but with every step learn and realize more and more how much God loves us

but then again my greatest question as of late has been that of grace vs. discipline

yea, God loves me despite whatever I do, and i believe and know that wholeheartedly… but i’ve been realizing that i need a bit more discipline in my life… to just get down on my knees or just to open myself for him to speak to me… and my lack of discipline was showing in my life, in my interactions with others and how i was spending my time… sleeping late, waking up late… feeling apathetic and whatnot…

yes, Jesus was always for the hungry and poor, weak and weary… he always hung out with the people that the society deemed as worthless, ate with prostitutes and criminals… and through that he demonstrated his boundless love… a love that covers sin, a grace unchanging…

but he also took time out of his day, away from everyone, away from his friends, away from his disciples, away from the ridiculous things that he did… to have his time alone with God… not to mention the 40 days he was in the desert before he began his ministry… Grace and Discipline need to go hand in hand in order for us to keep growing in our walk with God…

so that’s why i’m really excited to see where this FDF thing will take me… i’ve been lacking discipline lately, and perfect! i have 40 days to let God amaze me, with the accountability of 3 future roommates/homies praying for me…

we’re doing like this cool/weird prayer chart thing where we have each person praying for and being prayed for by another person in our group, every day… i think this is an important aspect of what were doing because Christian living was never meant to be lived out alone, but as a community, as a church… to know that we’re in this together.. to know that our joy and pain can be shared…

so here it goes again, this endless journey of loving god and being loved by god…

